Ben’s Bells

The entrance into Ben's Bell in Tucson Arizona

Even though I have written blogs about different non-profit organization in Tucson and Casa Grande, I have not given my time to help any of them. I have listen to their stories, used their services, but I haven’t given my time.

I decided to change that by donating my time to Ben Bell’s in Tucson. Ben’s Bells is a non-profit community art project focusing on the creation of “Ben’s Bells”. These bells are beautifully hand made and act as hanging works of art.

Ben’s Bell was created in memory of Jeannette and Dean Packard’s son, Ben. At the age of three his air way closed and he became unconscious and never woke back up. They created this organization as a way to spread kindness through Tucson and help people dealing with grief.

Ben’s Bell studio is in a small store covered in vibrant and happy colors. Most of the people there are volunteers who help by painting the ceramics, cutting out clay or stringing the colorful plaster figurines together.

White flower after i painted three coats of blue onto it. Photo by Allana Erickson

Plain be kind flower needed to be painted. Photo by Allana Erickson

I spent an hour sitting in a corner of a room painting flowered shaped plaster different shades of blue and green. I was in charge of painting the Belle, a bell that is presented to an individual who has shown kindness throughout the community. I felt accomplished that I had created my 8 flowers even though I have no artistic ability.

My painted flowers after an hour. Photo by Allana Erickson

Once these Ben’s Bells are created they are hung-up randomly through Tucson in September and Late March, to commemorate Ben’s death. They are not for sell at all. They are met to be a random act of kindness.

They receive money from donation from local stores, business and volunteer donations. These also get a small amount of money through a to-go box program that allows people to check out a box of bells in order to decorate them outside the studio.

If you would like to donate your time by painting, sculpting or stringing, then please call 520-628-2829 or visit Ben’s Bell studio at 816 E. University Blvd.. They are opened Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday from 10am-3pm or on Friday at 10am-7pm.

Leave a comment